Second Annual Mustang Award

Saddlebag Dispatches, The Award-Winning Home of Great Western Fiction, is excited to announce our Second Annual Mustang Award for Western Flash Fiction Contest.

Shortlist Announced

SADDLEBAG DISPATCHES announces the shortlist comprised of the ten best Flash Fiction Stories submitted to the annual contest. Finalists will be announced on June 15th. The winner will receive a $25 Award, and the winner and first runner-up will be published in the Summer issue of Saddlebag Dispatches. In alphabetical order, the ten short-listed stories are:

A Man of His Word by W. Michael Farmer

Blaze of Memories by Allison Tebo

Deadman’s Stand by David Bowmore

I am Sam by Paul Thomas

Lone Star Hate by Brandon Barrows

Red Flags by Arlie Sheelin

The Curved Horn by Terry Alexander

The Liar by Angela Raines

The Trail Behind by Michael McLean

Yellow Town by Bruce Harris

PRIZES: The 1st Place Winner will receive $25 and publication in the Summer 2022 issue of Saddlebag Dispatches.

We would like to again thank our independent panel of award-winning judges for their time and help. Thanks to L.J. Washburn, Richard Prosch, and Therese Greenwood.